HISTORIC BUILDINGS The oldest existing buildings on the Estate are those built by the Richmond Family and Charles Deering. In 1896, Samuel H. Richmond built a pioneer home for his family on the Estate as part of the settlement of the Town of Cutler. In 1900, an addition to the home was built and them opened to the paid public as “The Richmond Cottage” – the first inn between Coconut Grove and Key West. In 1913, Charles Deering, a wealthy industrialist from Chicago and first Chairman of International Harvester, purchased plots 77 and 78 and established his Winter home in South Florida. He remodeled the Richmond Cottage to is present appearance and built the 13,900 square foot Stone House to showcase his collection of fine art and furnishings. The historic outbuildings – a Carriage House, a Pump House, and Power House – were also built by Mr. Deering and today house several Artists in Residence and are collectively referred to as our Artist Village featuring traditional American craft artisans and exhibits. The Estate undergoes constant renovation and restoration. It was virtually destroyed by Hurricane Andrew in 1992 and took seven years to fully restore and reopen to the public. Only a modest collection of Mr. Deering’s original furnishings and fine art exist on the Estate today.